Red Quill Books
Get Red Quill Books essential facts below. View Videos or join the Red Quill Books discussion. Add Red Quill Books to your PopFlock.com topic list for future reference or share this resource on social media.
Red Quill Books
Red Quill Books
Red Quill Books logo.jpg
Founded2009
FounderGeorge S. Rigakos
Country of originCanada
Headquarters locationOttawa, Ontario
DistributionWorldwide by Ingram Content Group and Brunswick Books in Canada
Publication typesBooks
Nonfiction topicsRadical comic books and Social Science texts
Official websitewww.redquillbooks.com
Last Days of Che Guevara cover art.jpg

Red Quill Books was founded in 2009 by a group of scholars led by professor George S. Rigakos, based out of Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. The press, however, has no formal association with Carleton University. The primary mission of the press is to create a venue for reanimating classic, radical texts through comic book or manga formats aimed at a new generation of student, faculty and general readers.[1] Red Quill Books has also sought to develop as sizable catalogue of critical academic books. A founding principle of the press is to funnel a portion of its revenues toward student scholarships in order to support future critical research.[2]

Early notoriety

A year after its launch, Red Quill Books earned some early notoriety for its four-part Communist Manifesto Illustrated series which elicited attention in North America.[3][4] Red Quill Books has followed this with the release of Capital in Manga[5] which is the English translation of the Manga de Dokuha version produced by East Press, and The Last Days of Che Guevara, derived from the Italian comic entitled Que Viva El Che Guevara.[6]

References

  1. ^ Munn, Bryan. (Dec. 22, 2010) "Interview: The Communist Manifesto (Illustrated)" Sequential Pulp http://sequentialpulp.ca/interview-the-communist-manifesto-illustrated/
  2. ^ Audio: CKCU Interview on the mission of Red Quill Books with Editor George Rigakos. http://www.redquillbooks.com/news/red-quill-books-news/
  3. ^ Toronto Sun "Communist Manifesto to get comic book treatment" http://www.torontosun.com/news/weird/2010/12/29/16703416.html
  4. ^ Huffington Post "Comic Book Of 'The Communist Manifesto'" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/01/05/comic-book-communist-manifesto_n_802743.html
  5. ^ Metzger, Richard. Aug.17, 2012. Karl Marx's 'Das Kapital' in Manga! in Dangerous Minds http://dangerousminds.net/comments/karl_marxs_das_kapital_in_manga1
  6. ^ Buhle, Paul. July 14, 2014. The Last Days of Che Guevara: A Graphic Novel - Book Review in Toward Freedom http://www.towardfreedom.com/36-archives/media/3602-the-last-days-of-che-guevara-a-graphic-novel-book-review

Notable releases

  • Mark, Karl and Frederik Engels. Edited by: George S. Rigakos. Illustrated by Victor Serra. (2010) The Communist Manifesto Illustrated. Chapter One - Historical Materialism. Ottawa: Red Quill Books ISBN 978-1-926958-02-6
  • Marx, Karl. Edited by: Variety Artworks. Translated by: Guy Yasko. Capital in Manga! Ottawa: Red Quill Books ISBN 978-1-926958-19-4
  • Rizzo, Marco and Lelio Bonaccorso (Illustrator). (2014) The Last Days of Che Guevara: A Graphic Novel Ottawa: Red Quill Books ISBN 978-1-926958-30-9

External links


  This article uses material from the Wikipedia page available here. It is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.

Red_Quill_Books
 



 



 
Music Scenes